My week being a gym class slut!

In 2017 work has been more crazy than normal.  Due to working from approx. 8.15am until at least 7pm most days I have found it incredibly difficult to work out during the week.  This has caused me quite a bit of angst, I need to exercise – if I don’t I become unbearable!  I know lots of people will say I need to make time but getting to the gym for 6am is near impossible and working out late evening isn’t great as I am always wired after and cannot sleep.  Anyway, enough of me justifying my lack of exercise to anyone who is reading this!  There isn’t much I can do about it now, but have realised how I need to make it a part of my daily routine whether work is manic or not.

The week before last I managed to have a quiet week at work as everyone was overseas for an event.  This was a great chance for me to get my workout mojo back and have normal working hours, yay.  Instead of focusing on the gym I decided that this was the perfect week to look at classes at some fun places in London that I had been wanting to try.  It was my final week before payday so thought it was good time to take up some introductory offers..

First on my list was Another Space, this opened last year and based in Covent Garden.  I signed up to their introductory offer which gives you 2 credits (a credit gives you access to 1 class, so this gives you 2 classes) and also a buddy credit so you can take a friend along with you, brilliant.  I signed up to this with a girl from work and randomly was invited by a friend to go as her buddy.

We took a bright and early HIIT class at 7.30am on a Monday morning, what a way to start the week.  The changing rooms are lovely – white, luxurious and spacious.  Filled with hair dryers, straighteners and every product you could need pre & post workout.  Our instructor was Myles, he was clearly fit (in every way possible – shame he wore a t-shirt).  My first impression of the studio was that is was small, this was confirmed during the class after I was nearly kicked in the face every time we did burpees, although it could also be argued that the girl in front of me had zero spacial awareness!  The class was a mix of floor and bag work, all exercises aimed to heighten your heart rate and get you sweating!  Funnily enough this class was filled with girls, not a man in sight; think Myles was definitely the attraction.  The class was 45 minutes and I did leave thinking I had had a good workout, but not the greatest workout and didn’t feel as though I was properly challenged.

Tuesday night saw me return to AS.  On arrival we signed in, got given our gloves (£1 to hire) then struggled to find a free locker, the place was rammed as Women’s Health magazine hold their running club here every Tuesday night.  The running club is very well attended and definitely something I would look at going to in the future, especially as it is free.  This HIIT session we had Mila, who introduced herself and proudly told us she had sick buckets in the studio.  She was fierce, challenging and made me push myself.  You would want to go to her class if you had a rubbish day at work, were going through a break-up or just need to let off steam.  Her playlist was banging, her exercises challenging and I left her class feeling as though I had nothing more to give yet totally pumped at the same time, the feeling you want after a class.

Wednesday night I was back again, this time for one of their cycle sessions. I was quite apprehensive going into this class as I haven’t been spinning before and I have this ridiculous fear about falling off a bike in a class like this.  You are clipped in, which to me felt alien.  They help you set up your bike and answer any questions you may have.  There are about 39 bikes in the studio, first impressions was that the bikes were too close together and during the class elbows did clash!  The music is loud and the lights are flashing, creating a fun-club-like atmosphere, like the HIIT classes.  I wasn’t wowed by spinning but would go back again.  I think for me, personally, I am much better suited to a more active workout like HIIT.

On Sunday morning I was back in my favourite Active in Style leopard print leggings (yes, I splurged on these a while back, but how amazing are they?!) on at 7.20am was off to Barry’s Bootcamp for an 8.45am class.  I have to admit it, I was nervous.  A friend gave me a class for my birthday, great birthday present FYI, and we had finally found a time we were both able to make.  Dubbed “the best workout in the world”, where people like David Beckham and Ellie Golding work out, and I found out why.  I was the only “newbie” in the class (class holds 40 people and this one was full – says a lot for so early on a Sunday morning).  Shannon (our instructor) gave me a quick induction telling me the basics, format, how the treadmill works and off we went.  Barry’s mixes cardio on the treadmill with strength exercises on the floor, it is not for the faint hearted.  Shannon’s motivation and presence was infectious, he wanted everyone to have a good workout and he wanted everyone to push themselves.  I kept to the beginners speed on the treadmill and also the beginners weights on the floor.  However, I could have gone heavier and will go heavier next time, will stick to the beginners speed for a while longer.  I nearly vomited once, during a treadmill round, where I was probably a bit cocky and thought I could sprint faster – wrong!  I left dripping with sweat, red & blotchy and feeling utterly fab.  I don’t think there is such thing as an easy workout here, no session is ever the same and the instructors are pumped.  The problem with Barry’s is that it is incredibly popular so getting into classes, especially during the week, is quite tough.  However, it is worth it.  It is one of the best workouts I have ever had.

I do think that classes and venues like these are the way forward, there are so many of them now taking over London.  They are pricey but lots of them do offer class blocks and the odd deal.

Next on my list to try is Best’s Bootcamp and F45.  Although think my new addiction will be Barry’s…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

